Running on empty (and stuck between blisters and numb toes)

This week is proving a struggle, training wise. When you wake up in the morning feeling like you’ve been chloroformed it’s probably time to reassess the training.

Firstly, I’m having trainer issues (of which more in a second…). But thinking about why I feel so rubbish has made me realise that although I’m putting the miles in, I’ve been winging it a bit when it comes to nutrition.

Not eating a proper breakfast, relying on rubbish sarnies for lunch, drinking horrible machine coffee and then expecting to run nine miles after work is a bit daft, like putting beer in your car and then wondering why it doesn’t go very far.

So I’ve resolved to be better. I’m having enough trouble with my feet without making it worse.

The trainers you see, new, expensive, supposed to see me round the course, are giving me blisters (check the previous post if you’d like to see one) but more importantly, making my shins hurt.

There are a couple of explanations. It could just be the extra miles. Or it could be that the shoes are causing the problem.

I’m not sure what to do. Try and take them back? Run in my older shoes, which make my toes go numb? Run in my old shoes, which saw me round the marathon last time? Shell out for another new pair, so close to race day?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated…

~ by Sam Shepherd on March 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
